top of page
About Achim HaNefesh Splash
About Achim HaNefesh

Who Are We?

Achim HaNefesh (“Brothers of the Soul”) is a new fraternal organization established in Orange County, California in 2020. We are affiliated with “Men of Reform Judaism” (MRJ), but not directly associated with any one synagogue. Achim HaNefesh was created to collaborate with and support HaNefesh, a new “Temple without Walls” led by Rabbi Heidi Cohen, and Jew By You, a new Jewish educational institution led by Jodi Kaufman.

Achim HaNefesh plans to present programs highlighting and illuminating issues facing the local and global Jewish communities, such as (but not limited to):

  • Anti-semitism

  • U.S. Israeli relations

  • Social justice

  • Political and economic concerns relating to Jews throughout the world.

In addition, Achim HaNefesh is committed to supporting educational programs offered by HaNefesh Inc.

By its very definition Achim HaNefesh is a “brotherhood” and will help foster social interaction and friendship through such activities as game nights, joke nights, webinars, and other events offered by Miriam’s Circle sisterhood, Chai Times (an Orange County senior social group) and other members of the community.

Mission & Vision

Our mission is to support and collaborate with HaNefesh. We embody a spirit of social activity, Tikkun Olam, to foster cultural and educational advancement for our local community, our Jewish Community, and the Jewish people at large. We strive to promote the spirit of brotherhood within its midst and to advance the work of brotherhood through affiliation with the Men of Reform Judaism.

Our 2022-2024 Board

Mark Friedman
Stephen Sherman

Mark Friedman


Stephen Sherman has been involved with multiple Jewish organizations for many years and is currently the Membership Vice President of MRJ-West.

Stephen Sherman

Immediate Past President

Steve Friedman
Coming Soon.png

Steve Friedman

Vice President of Membership

Scott Friedman

Recording Secretary

Coming Soon.png
Coming Soon.png

Jay Lieberman

Programming Committee

Mark Borovay

Programming Committee

Alan Pearlman.jpg

Adam Sherman

Vice President
Marketing Communications

Alan Pearlman


Len Silberman
Barry Robbins

Leonard Silberman

Social Action Chairman

Barry Robbins

Member at Large

bottom of page